Home » NBA awards 2024: Complete list of winners for MVP, Defensive Player, Rookie of the Year and more | Sporting News United Kingdom

NBA awards 2024: Complete list of winners for MVP, Defensive Player, Rookie of the Year and more | Sporting News United Kingdom

While the 2024 NBA Playoffs are in full swing, the league is preparing to honor regular-season standouts with end-of-season performance awards.

Award-winners from the 2023-24 regular season will be announced during TNT’s postseason coverage, with the “Inside the NBA” crew of Ernie Johnson, Charles Barkley, Shaquille O’Neal and Kenny Smith announcing the winners.

This year, the Most Improved Player will be announced first, followed by Sixth Man of the Year, Clutch Player of the Year and Coach of the Year award winners. The final three award winners that will be honored are the league’s Rookie of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year and Most Valuable Player.

Award winners were voted on by a global panel of 100 sportswriters and broadcasters. This year, however, new rules regarding player availability impacted the award eligibility for several stars.

Who won this year’s end-of-season honors? Below, find a running list of each award winner as they are revealed.

MORE: When the NBA plans to announce end-of-season award winners

2023-24 NBA awards

(Winners will be denoted in bold.)

Most Valuable Player


  • Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets 
  • Luka Doncic, Dallas Mavericks
  • Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Oklahoma City Thunder

For the third time in four seasons, Jokic has been named NBA MVP.

The 29-year-old reaffirmed his position as the world’s best player, averaging 26.4 points, 12.4 rebounds, 9.0 assists and 1.4 steals per game while leading the Nuggets to a tie for the second-best record in the league.

Rookie of the Year


  • Victor Wembanyama, San Antonio Spurs
  • Chet Holmgren, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Brandon Miller, Charlotte Hornets

To no surprise, Wembanyama has been crowned 2024 Rookie of the Year. The Spurs superstar averaged 21.4 points, 10.6 rebounds, 3.9 assists, 1.2 steals and a league-leading 3.6 blocks per game.

He became the first player in league history to record 1,500 points, 700 rebounds, 250 assists, 250 blocks and 100 3-pointers in a single season, per The Athletic’s Shams Charania.

He joins Ralph Sampson, David Robinson, Blake Griffin, Damian Lillard and Karl-Anthony Towns as the only unanimous Rookie of the Year winners in NBA history.

Thunder star Holmgren and Hornets star Miller finished second and third, respectively. Heat rookie Jaime Jaquez Jr. and Warriors rookie Brandin Podziemski rounded out the top five.

MORE: Why Victor Wembanyama can be this generation’s Wilt Chamberlain

Defensive Player of the Year


  • Rudy Gobert, Minnesota Timberwolves
  • Bam Adebayo, Miami Heat
  • Victor Wembanyama, San Antonio Spurs

Gobert makes history as he’s named the 2023-24 Defensive Player of the Year. He helped the Timberwolves to a 56-26 record and No. 3 seed in the Western Conference.

The 7-1 center now has four Defensive Player of the Year awards, tying Ben Wallace and Dikembe Mutombo for the most all time.

MORE: Steph Noh’s expert All-Defensive Team picks

Sixth Man of the Year


  • Naz Reid, Minnesota Timberwolves
  • Malik Monk, Sacramento Kings
  • Bobby Portis, Milwaukee Bucks

Naz Reid of the Minnesota Timberwolves won the Sixth Man of the Year award. He beat out finalists Malik Monk and Bobby Portis to become the franchise’s first-ever player to win Sixth Man of the Year.

Reid averaged 13.5 points, 5.2 rebounds and 1.3 assists per game on .477/.414/.736 shooting splits across 81 games this season.

Monk finished in second place, falling 10 points shy of Reid. Reid finished with 352 points to Monk’s 342. Portis had 81 points.

Most Improved Player


  • Tyrese Maxey, Philadelphia 76ers
  • Alperen Sengun, Houston Rockets
  • Coby White, Chicago Bulls

Maxey won the Most Improved Player award, beating out finalists Alperen Sengun and Coby White, the NBA announced on April 23. The final voting had Maxey beating out White by just 14 points.

The 76ers fourth-year guard made his first All-Star appearance and averaged 25.9 points and 6.2 assists per game this season. He’s just the second 76ers player to win the award after Dana Barros won in 1995.

Maxey took on a leadership role when Joel Embiid suffered an injury that sidelined him for a majority of the regular season. He helped the 76ers earn the No. 7 seed in the Eastern Conference.

Clutch Player of the Year


  • Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors
  • DeMar DeRozan, Chicago Bulls
  • Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Oklahoma City Thunder

Curry won the 2023-24 NBA Clutch Player of the Year award, beating out DeRozan and Gilgeous-Alexander. 

The two-time MVP led the NBA in clutch points, clutch 3-pointers when trailing and go-ahead shots made in the final minute, among many other accolades in the most critical moments of games this season.

Curry finished his 15th NBA season averaging 26.4 points, 4.5 rebounds and 5.1 assists per game, though he saw his efficiency dip from last season. Still, he was instrumental in the Warriors’ strong finish to the regular season following a slow start. It wasn’t enough for a playoff appearance in the end, but it was enough for Curry to add one more piece of hardware to a loaded shelf. 

MORE: Shai Gilgeous-Alexander and the Thunder are proof that age is just a number

Coach of the Year


  • Mark Daigneault, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Chris Finch, Minnesota Timberwolves
  • Jamahl Mosley, Orlando Magic

Daigneault was awarded as the 2023-24 Coach of the Year after shockingly leading the Thunder to the No. 1 seed in the West. Oklahoma City was only projected to win 44 games this season but finished 57-25. Its rebuild is well ahead of schedule, and Daigneault’s guidance deserves plenty of credit along with the star trio of Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Jalen Williams and Chet Holmgren.

Daigneault edged out two other very deserving coaches, as both Finch’s Timberwolves and Mosley’s Magic also exceeded expectations.

Social Justice Champion


  • Bam Adebayo
  • CJ McCollum
  • Karl-Anthony Towns
  • Lindy Waters III
  • Russell Westbrook

The Social Justice Champion award is in honor of Kareem Abdul-Jabbar. Stephen Curry won the 2022-23 award.

There are five finalists compared to the three for other awards. The NBA will announce the winner on Thursday, May 9.