Home » How often is the T20 Cricket World Cup? | Sporting News United Kingdom

How often is the T20 Cricket World Cup? | Sporting News United Kingdom

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is all set to return for its ninth edition in 2024. The tournament will be held in the West Indies and USA, across nine different venues from June 1 to June 29. It is the first time the USA will play host to a major ICC global tournament.

Bet on the T20 World Cup and other cricket matches here!

This T20 World Cup will be the biggest tournament yet, with a total of 20 teams participating. Apart from hosts West Indies and USA, the top 8 sides from the previous tournament; Australia, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka as well as the next two sides in the T20I rankings (Afghanistan and Bangladesh) received automatic qualification.

The teams which made it through the qualifiers in their respective regions are Ireland and Scotland (Europe), Papua New Guinea (East Asia-Pacific), Canada (Americas), Nepal and Oman (Asia), Namibia and Uganda (Africa).

How often is the T20 Cricket World Cup?

The first edition of the T20 World Cup took place in 2007 in South Africa. India won the inaugural tournament, defeating arch-rivals Pakistan in a nail-biting summit clash to secure MS Dhoni’s first trophy in charge of the national team.

The tournament has been planned to take place every two years, but has not followed this exact pattern for scheduling reasons. The second edition was held in 2009, but the third came in 2010 so as not to clash with the ODI World Cup in 2011.

Thereafter, the T20 World Cup took place every two years until 2016. The 2018 tournament was scrapped due to concerns over a cramped schedule after the ICC Champions Trophy was revived in 2017. The 2020 edition was postponed to 2021 due to the Covid-19 pandemic but since then the 2022 and 2024 editions have gone on according to schedule.

History of the T20 World Cup
Year Host Winner
2007 South Africa India
2009 England Pakistan
2010 West Indies England
2012 Sri Lanka West Indies
2014 Bangladesh Sri Lanka
2016 India West Indies
2021 UAE Australia
2022 Australia England
2024 West Indies & USA TBD