Home » UK adds seven new countries to travel advisory ‘black list’ | The Express Tribune

UK adds seven new countries to travel advisory ‘black list’ | The Express Tribune

The United Kingdom has added seven new countries to a list of destinations declared extremely dangerous for travel, according to an advisory issued by the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO).

The new additions to the list are Russia, Ukraine, Iran, Sudan, Lebanon, Israel, Belarus, and the Palestinian territories.

The total number of ‘banned’ countries and regions now stands at 24. The FCDO said in a statement that these countries were included in the list based on crime, war, terrorism, disease, extreme weather, natural disasters and potential threats to tourists.

Read also: US travel advisory urges caution during Pak polls

“British nationals are advised to only travel to these countries if absolutely necessary, to take all necessary precautions and to give advance notice before departure,” it added.

However, there was no change in Pakistan’s travel advisory status which was last updated on January 24.

The FCDO advises against travel to certain destinations in the country, which include the Pakistan-Afghanistan border area, some districts of Khyber-Paktunkhwa, Balochistan, Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK), and “all areas of Sindh Province north of and including the city of Nawabshah”.

A similar advisory, advising against travel to certain areas, exists for India, Bangladesh, Egypt, Malaysia, Indonesia and other countries.