Home » Who won the last T20 Cricket World Cup? | Sporting News United Kingdom

Who won the last T20 Cricket World Cup? | Sporting News United Kingdom

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is all set to return for its ninth edition in 2024. The tournament will be held in the West Indies and USA, across nine different venues from June 1 to June 29. It is the first time the USA will play host to a major ICC global tournament.

Bet on the T20 World Cup and other cricket matches here!

This T20 World Cup will be the biggest tournament yet, with a total of 20 teams participating. Apart from hosts West Indies and USA, the top 8 sides from the previous tournament; Australia, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka as well as the next two sides in the T20I rankings (Afghanistan and Bangladesh) received automatic qualification.

The teams which made it through the qualifiers in their respective regions are Ireland and Scotland (Europe), Papua New Guinea (East Asia-Pacific), Canada (Americas), Nepal and Oman (Asia), Namibia and Uganda (Africa).

MORE: Why is the T20 Cricket World Cup 2024 being played in the USA?

Who won the last T20 Cricket World Cup?

The first edition of the T20 World Cup took place in 2007 in South Africa. India won the inaugural tournament, defeating arch-rivals Pakistan in a nail-biting summit clash to secure MS Dhoni’s first trophy in charge of the national team.

The most recent edition of the tournament took place two years ago, in 2022. In the eighth edition, held in Australia, England emerged as winners for the second time, becoming the second team after West Indies to win multiple T20 World Cups.

Entering at the Super 12 stage, they qualified for the semi-finals from Group 1 along with New Zealand, pipping the hosts in the process. They went on to thrash India by 10 wickets in the second semi-final, before defeating Pakistan by 5 wickets in the summit clash.

MORE: Do Impact Players and substitute rules apply for T20 Cricket World Cup?

Winners of the T20 World Cup
Year Host Winner
2007 South Africa India
2009 England Pakistan
2010 West Indies England
2012 Sri Lanka West Indies
2014 Bangladesh Sri Lanka
2016 India West Indies
2021 UAE Australia
2022 Australia England
2024 West Indies & USA TBD